Elections of the University’s President took place at Kyiv-Mohyla Academy

On February 12, 2020, the second round of elections of the University’s president took place at the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy.


As a result of the election, former president Andriy Meleshevych took top spot with 50,7 percent of the votes. Maryna Tkachuk, current Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, placed second with 44,9 percent of the votes. 4,2 percent of the voters didn’t support any of the two candidates who made it to the second round.


There were a total of five candidates for the election on the ballot in the first round, which took place on February 5, 2020. As no candidate received an absolute majority of the vote, a second round was held between the top two candidates, Maryna Tkachuk, current Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, and Andriy Meleshevych, University’s president, 2014-2019.


The competition for the position was announced in October 2019, two months before the end of the term of then incumbent president.


According to the Ukrainian legislation, the nature of electing university’s rector (president) is democratic. University’s community comprising every permanent faculty staff member, elected representatives of administrative staff and elected representatives of the student body, is responsible for electing the rector (president). The rector (president) is elected by secret ballot for a term of five years. 


Detailed information of the pace of the election campaign can be found here (Ukrainian only).

© 2011 - 2022 National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy
2 Skovorody vul., Kyiv 04070, Ukraine